Welcome | Database | Indexes | Copyright/Disclaimer | Login |
Sutherland Memorial School of Arts Honour Roll
This honour roll is housed in the School of Arts
in East Parade Sutherland which is also home to the Sutherland Historical
Society Museum. The heritage listed Sutherland School of Arts is, in itself, a
memorial to those from the district who served in World War 1. Funds for the
building were raised partly from the sale of previously purchased land, partly
by public donation and partly from a Council grant.
The foundation stone was laid by NSW Governor Sir
Walter Davidson on 28 May 1921, the same day he had previously unveiled the
Sutherland Memorial. The new building, opened to members on 18 April 1922,
comprised a library, reading room, some billiard tables and a hall for social
events. Membership was to be free to all returned soldiers.
An official opening was held on 5 August 1922 by
the then Minister for Education Mr Albert Bruntnell. A timber honour roll,
embossed with gold lettering, had been organised to display the names of ninety
four of the young men from C Riding who had volunteered for service. At that
time the boundaries of C Riding extended much further than today. The area
encompassed was bounded by Sylvania Road in the east, Georges River to the north
and Woronora River to the West. It also included residents of National Park.
To discover more
details of the servicemen named on this memorial click on the heading, then on
to one on the names listed at the bottom of the page.
Biographies of these
servicemen can be found in SERVICE AND
SACRIFICE, Sutherland Shire Memorials 1914-1918,
by Marilyn Handley and Susanne Hewitt,
2015, available from Botany Bay Family History Society, 02 9523 8948, P.O. Box
1006, Sutherland, NSW, 1499.